Month: March 2019

NPS Scotland Harbro Point Scheme 2019

As we have just completed our second year of the revised Points Scheme which superseded the traditional Performance Scheme everyone seems to be happy with the new format which now welcomes entries from Ridden and Driving disciplines as well In Hand competitors too.

The objective of this scheme still remains the same as a competition to promote and recognise the versatility of all the native breeds and their part-breds.

Riders/drivers/handlers can be of any age, and members and non-members of NPS Scotland are open to enter. Entry fees are £10 for NPS Scotland members and £15 for non-members. The competition runs from 1st January to 31st December each year. Entries can be made throughout the year as long as you have kept a log of your results.

Ponies are awarded points which are graded according to the activity which range from attending Pony Club games and rallies to competing at Driving Marathons, Long Distance Rides, Hunter Trials or Horse of the Year Show. There truly is something for everyone in this competition. See Points Scheme 2019 Record Book for details on how points are awarded.

NPS Scotland Harbro Points Winners 2019

Congratulations to our wonderful winners of the 2019 Points competition which completed on the 31st December 2019.  Those worthy winners were presented their prizes the AGM in the Huntingtower Hotel, Perth by Louise Oliphant who organises the Points Competition and Vicky Guild from Harbro our sponsors who presented vouchers to all prize winners and rugs to the champions with saddle cloths to the reserves

View the pictures of the presentation here

Treasure Island Trophy is a points accumulator competition for showing classes.

1st Thistledown Angel Eyes and Rebecca Lapsley

2nd Trailtrow Tearlach and Gillian McMurray

3rd Waitwith Santana and Sue Chappelhow-Lacy

4th Dunaskin Gimli and Eleanor Crate.

5th Shilstone Rocks Tornado and Kirsty Errington.

6th Gems Swn Y Mor and Kirsty Finnie.


Lady Fairfax Lucy Trophy is a points accumulator for all disciplines including driving, endurance riding, horse trials, dressage and many more showing the versatility of the native breeds.

1st Trailtrow Tearlach and Gillain McMurray  (8700 Points)

2nd Lees Hill Lord and Lesley McNaughton-Wells

3rd Dunaskin Gimli and Eleanor Crate.

4th Thistledown Angel Eyes and Rebecca Lapsley.

5th Eastlands Tushiebrae and Emma-Jane Murray

6th Peepings Aragon and Sue Chappelhow-Lacy

7th Dusty Newtown Land and Rebecca McNaab.

8th Ardfry Rohan and Nicola Lyon.

9th Barhill Danny and Gail Whetter.

10th Shilstone Rocks Toranado and Kirsy Errington.


Best of Breed

 Best Welsh A – Tahuna Caramel Trophy – Waitwith Santana and Sue Chappelhow-Lacy.

Best Welsh B – Dunaskin Gimli and Eleanor Crate.

Best Welsh D – Balhagarty  Royal Dhu and Morven Booth

Best Highland – Trailtrow Tearlach and Gillian McMurray

Best Dartmoor – Shilstone Rocks Tornado and Kirsty Errington.

Best Connemara – Eastlands Tushiebrae and Emma Jane Murray.

Best Fell – Peepings Aragon and Sue Chappelhow-Lacy.

Best Dales – Lees Hill Lord and Lesley McNaughton-Wells.

Best Exmoor – Barhill Danny and Gail Whetter.


Trophy Winners

Part Bred – Chester Hill Cup – Saxon and Lesley McNaughton-Wells.

Driving Trophy – Llanarth Tango and Caroline Watson.

Toffee Cup for Dressage –  Lees Hill Lord and Lesley McNaughton-Wells.

Shreddie Cup for Jumpning – Dunaskin Gimli and Eleanor Crate.

Junior Trophy –Dunaskin Gimli and Dana Simpson.


In Hand –

1st Trailtrow Tearlach and Gillian McMurray

2nd Banksy and Eleanor Crate.

3rd Eastlands Tushiebrae and Emma-Jane Murray

4th Waxwing Daisy Mary and Kirsty Miller.

5th Saxon and Lesley McNaughton-Wells.

6th Fourmerk Highland Fling and Marilla with Joan Alexander.

Young Stock


Bansky and Eleanor Crate

To enter by post please complete and return the 2019 Entry Form

To enter online please use the Enter online

The prize giving takes place at the NPS Scotland AGM in February each year.

Tom & David Lifetime Achievers!

Congratulations to Tom Best & David Blair who picked up the “Lifetime Achievement” award at the “National Equestrian Awards” at Dunblane Hydro on March 1st.

Tom & David’s celebrated “Waxwing Stud” has produced many outstanding Welsh Section A & B ponies in the more than four decades since it was established.
Not only have they enjoyed showing success to the very highest level but as judges, breeders and champions of our native breeds they have won many friends & admirers.

Generous with their time, knowledge and experience, Tom & David could not be more deserving of this prestigious award.

Congratulations to Fiona “Volunteer of the year”

On behalf of the NPS Scotland committee and membership, huge congratulations go to Fiona Roebuck for winning “Volunteer of the year” at the National Equestrian Awards on Friday night (March 1st).  Alongside her support for other societies and her new appointment to RHASS, the panel recognised Fiona’s many years of service to the Scottish equestrian community both as a committee member and now leader of NPS Scotland, where she has overseen growth in membership, developed new events and made the “Blair Finals” an outstanding finale to our showing calendar.   Well done Fiona!


Scroll to top